Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting

18 Aug

Are you guys sick of cupcakes yet? I kind of am. In the past 3 weeks, I have pumped out more than 8 dozen cupcakes. That’s 8 batches of butter cream frosting. Please, no one do the math on how many pounds of butter that is.

Did you know that I have at least 3 pounds of butter in my fridge at any given time?  I think I actually have some kind of disorder or syndrome that causes me to become extremely anxious when I have less than 3 pounds of butter on hand. I freak out and think ‘what if I need to make 4 dozen cupcakes and 3 batches of cookies and a chicken coated in herb butter? WHAT WILL HAPPEN THEN?’  What happens then is I hop in the car and speed to the nearest grocery store to buy out their butter stock.

Anyways back to cupcakes! Vanilla cupcakes may seem like the boring same old, but keep in mind that you can start off with a plain old vanilla cupcake with vanilla butter cream frosting, and you can add flavors until your little heart is content!

Look at these cute liners I found! There is a cake decorating store that is dangerously close to my house and I discovered that they stock about 100 different cupcake liners. They aren’t even ridiculously priced either!

My thighs are still looking for that cupcake biter…kthx

Vanilla Cupcakes with Butter Cream Frosting:
makes 12 cupcakes

for the cupcakes:
1/2 cup room temperature Butter
2/3 cup Sugar
3 Eggs
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
Zest of one Lemon
1 1/2 cup Flour
1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 cup Milk

for the frosting:
1 cup (two sticks) butter
2 cups powdered sugar
2 tsp Vanilla
1/4 cup heavy cream

for the cupcakes:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line a muffin tin with 12 muffin cups.

Cream the butter in the bowl of an electric mixer until light, gradually add the sugar and beat until fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time and then the vanilla and lemon zest. Beat until combined.

In a seperate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and salt.

With the mixture on low, alternate adding the flour mixture and the milk. Mix until just combined.

Divide the batter between the prepared liners and bake the cupcakes for 16-20 minutes. I find this varies greatly between different ovens so be careful to watch them after about 16 minutes. Remove to cool on a wire rack before frosting.

for the frosting:

Cream the butter in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy. On medium speed using the whisk attachment, alternate adding the sugar and cream until all is incorporated. Add the vanilla and turn the mixer to high. Mix for 2-3 minutes until light and fluffy.

Use a piping bag to frost the cooled cupcakes. 

4 Responses to “Fluffy Vanilla Cupcakes with Buttercream Frosting”

  1. Tina August 18, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Butter is a must in my fridge and it seems like I am always buying it. My husband tells me I hoard it. Anyhow, your cupcakes look delicious and thanks for the flavor addition tip.

  2. Jennifer August 19, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    YUM! I LOVE cupcakes!

    Thank you so much for linking up to Fusion Fridays! Come back next Friday to see my favorites and to link up again! http://janedeereblog.blogspot.com

    Have a great weekend!

  3. Becca @ Crumbs and Chaos August 20, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    These look wonderful! I know what you mean about being short on butter, it makes me kind of anxious too. In fact, I'm going to the store in the morning just to get some more. It's fabulous that this recipe makes just 12…sometimes that's the perfect amount!

  4. missdelish August 22, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    Thank you Ladies!!

What`s on your mind?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

